Tournament season opens at Thompson Golf Club

Thompson Golf Club kicked off its 2010 tournament season with the men's and ladies' opening day tournaments May 15-16.

The men's tournament, a four-man scramble format, had 67 players and saw the team of Farrol Asham, Ron Mymko, Michael McGurk and Jeff Piercy win the championship flight. They were followed by Bill Ritchat, Glen Hayden, Blair Crooks and Doug Whalen in second place and John Sinclair, Sonny Jonasson, Tony Monias and Reynold Monias Sr. in third.

article continues below

Laura McLeod, Jennifer Jonas, Shirley Phillips and Cecile Martin took first place in the women's opening day tournament, which had 31 players and was also a four-person scramble format, while the team of Alissa LeForte, Adele Sweeney, Sandi Howard and Carla Fennel won the award for having the most fun.

In the men's first flight, Aaron Konhai, Wade Leir, Ed Azure and Sandy Chalifoux took first prize, with the team of Keith Mulligan, Alex Green, Wade McMurrich and Jon Sawatzky in second. Adam Muirhead, Jeff Katchmar and Adam Wenstob placed third.

Ken Troke, Darryl Cooper, Archie McKay and Thomas Rae were the winners of the men's second flight, with Greg Gallant, Jaco Storm, Paul Lewis and Roy Wiseman finishing second. Third place went to Rick Gallant, Corey Jervis, Rod Jervis and Rick Bushey.

© Copyright Thompson Citizen


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Thompson Citizen welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus