Three Trojans basketball players, two coaches chosen for graduating all-star games in Winnipeg

Five representatives of R.D. Parker Collegiate have been named to Basketball Manitoba’s graduating all-star game rosters – three players and two coaches.

The girls’ A, AA and AAA graduating all-star game, which is being played at 10 a.m. at St. Paul’s High School in Winnipeg April 13, will have the most Thompson content, with Trojans Ashley Williams and Tressa McDonald on the floor and RDPC senior girls basketball coaches Christine Sim and Sandy Deibert on the sidelines along with Goose Lake School coach Brant Neufeld.

article continues below

McDonald was a tournament all-star at the AAA high school basketball provincials where the Trojans captured third place. She was also named the urban high school athlete of the week after scoring 29 points in the final of the zone 11 championships in The Pas March 2 to help her team land a sport at provincials. Williams was the urban high school athlete of the week about a month earlier after leading the Trojans with 23 points, five blocks, seven steals and eight rebounds per game during a tournament in Sanford. Williams was the tournament MVP and McDonald a tournament all-star at the squad’s first tournament of the season.

Other Northern Manitoba players competing in the game, on the opposite team from the RDPC representatives, are Alyssa Patterson and Briah Atkinson of Hapnot Collegiate Institute in Flin Flon.

RDPC’s Kyle Tomchuk is the only RDPC player who will take part in the boys’ A, AA and AAA graduating all-star game, which starts at 11:30 a.m. His teammates will include Chance Leader and Lucas Mack from Margaret Barbour Collegiate Institute in The Pas on a team coached by MBCI’s Matt Hagborg.

Tomchuk was named a tournament all-star at the Trojans first basketball tournament of the season in The Pas in December.

The A, AA and AAA all-star games will be followed by the Basketball Manitoba awards banquet in the afternoon and the AAAA girls’ and boys’ graduating all-star games in the evening.

Awards to be handed out at the banquet include players of the year, coaches of the year, All-Manitoba team rosters, as well as the Carl Rudd, Mike Spack, Jim Bulloch, Ron Meyers, Donovan Gayle and Morris Glimcher awards, among others.

© Copyright Thompson Citizen


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Thompson Citizen welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus