Search Results

Showing 1-10 results for "The Backyard Astronomer"

Backyard Astronomy - Sept. 15, 2020

September 15, 2020
Looking up at a clear sky is something we do naturally, whether you are taking a late-night stroll, walking the dog or just relaxing on the deck. Without the aid of binoculars or a telescope, our . . .

Backyard Astronomy - July 16, 2020

July 16, 2020
A bright comet is now in the evening sky and you can see it without a telescope. Comet F3 (NEOWISE) has been a fantastic object in the early morning pre-dawn sky but will be well placed below the . . .

Backyard Astronomy - March 6, 2020

March 6, 2020
Throughout history, keen skywatchers would follow the weekly and monthly movement of bright objects against the background sky. The early Greeks referred to the planets of our solar system as the “. . .

Backyard Astronomy - Dec. 20, 2019

December 20, 2019
The stars we see on a clear night have been burning for millions or billions of years. But how did they come to be? Stars, like our sun, are created from vast interstellar clouds of gas and dust . . .

Backyard Astronomy: double stars

October 18, 2019
Seeing double is never a good thing and a sign to seek medical attention; however, double stars can be a thing of beauty. Some stars that appear as a single point of light to the unaided eye are in. . .

Backyard Astronomy – Aug. 2, 2019

August 2, 2019
You are taking a late-night stroll or sitting on your deck staring at the starry sky and whoosh, a quick streak of light catches your attention. You have just witnessed the fiery re-entry of space . . .

Backyard Astronomer - July 5, 2019

July 5, 2019
On any clear night, look to the southern portion of the sky after sunset and you will come across a bright object. This is not a star but the planet Jupiter. Of the eight major planets in our solar. . .

The Backyard Astronomer – May 10, 2019

May 10, 2019
Telescopes have come a long way since their invention in 1608. The simple refracting telescope consisted of two small lenses located at each end of a long tube. This “spyglass” was a great tool to . . .

The Backyard Astronomer – April 5, 2019

April 5, 2019
Stargazing is a wonderful and peaceful past time that anyone can enjoy. From planets to star clusters, galaxies to nebulae, the night sky is a treasure chest of celestial delights. Although . . .

Backyard Astronomy – March 8, 2019

March 8, 2019
My passion for the night sky began at the tender age of eight with an elementary school library book entitled “Stars.” I leaned from that faithful day that the sun is a typical star in the night . . .