Thompson Unlimited has a new board

Thompson Unlimited has five new board members, whose appointments were approved during council’s June 22 meeting.

Randy McKay was named as chairperson,  while Curtis Ross, Robert Johnston, Glen Kristjanson and Brock Weir were also named to the board. The new members will be on a three-year term, with council representative Coun. Judy Kolada on a one-year term.

article continues below

Although the resolution was carried, Kolada and Coun. Duncan Wong both abstained from the vote. “I think ideally we should have been provided with the biographies of those applying and council should have voted on the members of the board, but at very minimum it should have been discussed at a committee,” Kolada explained, with Wong agreeing.

Coun. Kathy Valentino noted that more people applied for the board than needed. “So any problems to be had are good problems, and I look forward to this Thompson Unlimited board, and maybe the excess people who applied can be used in some way.”

Coun. Dennis Foley was impressed with the names brought forward, and said he was looking forward to the progressive changes to the board.

© Copyright Thompson Citizen


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Thompson Citizen welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus