Thompson Chamber of Commerce elects new president, receives report on new airport terminal

The Thompson Chamber of Commerce gathered for their annual general meeting on Feb. 26, to celebrate outgoing president Raj Thethy and elect new president Charlotte Larocque. Other officers and executives for 2020 include secretary Sandy Hayes, treasurer Dennis Green and directors Dave Moore, Leanne Rutherford, Jason Turton, Volker Beckmann and Dana Cyrenne.

Departing vice-president Keith MacDonald, who is also a Thompson Regional Airport Authority (TRAA) board member, submitted the 2019 TRAA report

article continues below

“We have undertaken one of the most ambitious applications in history – applying for and securing capital investment dollars for the new airport terminal and infrastructure,” MacDonald said in his report. “We continue to meet with all levels of government in an effort to secure funding for the many components of this project.”

MacDonald said the airport continues to see growing use, “with freight distribution growing exponentially year over year. With the construction of Keeyask dam, charter travel added approximately 20,000 passengers annually to the regular scheduled traffic, but with the project starting to wind down, the carrier servicing the project has stopped flying out of Thompson.”


© Copyright Thompson Citizen


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Thompson Citizen welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus