Skip to content

Next Thompson MLA will be elected June 7

Byelection to fill vacancy in the legislature caused by Danielle Adams’s death will be held four weeks from now.
Elections Manitoba ballot boxes during the 2019 provincial election. A byelection to choose Thompson's next MLA will be held June 7, Premier Heather Stefanson announced May 10.

Thompson and area voters will be electing the riding’s next MLA June 7. 

Premier Heather Stefanson announced the byelection date in a news release shortly after 4 p.m. May 10, just in time to allow for a four-week campaign period prior to the election, which must be held on a Tuesday according to provincial election rules.

“The byelection will provide the constituents of Thompson an opportunity to select a representative to be a strong voice for their community and Northern Manitoba in the legislature,” said Stefanson.

The byelection had to be held within 180 days of the seat becoming vacant, which occurred when first-term NDP MLA Danielle Adams died in a car accident while on her way to the legislature in December.

Two candidates have publicly declared themselves to be seeking the job of Thompson MLA — Eric Redhead for the NDP and Charlotte Larocque for the Progressive Conservatives. The Manitoba Liberals announced months ago that they would not be running a candidate and other parties have not made public comments about their plans.

There are 36 PC MLAs, 17 NDP MLAs and three Liberal MLAs in the Manitoba legislature right now.

The Thompson byelection is the fourth called under provincial legislation introduced in 2016 to ensure that legislature vacancies are filled within six months.