Skip to content

Four new members named to UCN governing council

Additions include a Thompson campus student representative and other members from Flin Flon, Kelsey and Swan River.
AWastesicoot 2022 web
Thompson campus student representative April Wastesicoot is one of four new members appointed to University College of the North’s governing council Sept. 22.

University College of the North appointed four new and two returning members to its governing council Sept. 22, including a Thompson student.

April Wastesicoot is the new student member from the Thompson campus, with Pam Marsden of Flin Flon, Alan McLauchlan of Kelsey and Glen McKenzie of Swan River the other new members. The Pas student representative Brea Anderson and governing council vice-chair Linda Markus have been reappointed for a second term.

“We welcome valuable new voices to the table as we continue to increase access to education, advance reconciliation, and respond to the training and employment needs of the north,” said governing council board chair Becky Cianflone in a news release.  

The governing council is accountable to the provincial minister of advanced education for the organizational performance of UCN and includes representatives from the learning council and the council of elders.

“On behalf of all the staff of UCN I welcome the new members to the governing council,” said UCN president Doug Lauvstad. “UCN’s governing council is our connection to the Northern Manitoba communities, and the new members will continue to ensure UCN is responsive and relevant to the needs of the north and the province.”

push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks