Skip to content

Election day for mayor and council of Thompson

Votes can be cast until 8 p.m. at the Thompson Regional Community Centre.
stock hand ballot box
Voting for the next mayor and council of Thompson is open until 8 p.m. at the Thompson Regional Community Centre.

It’s municipal election day in Manitoba and polls are open for voters to select their next mayor and council until 8 p.m.

All voting is at the Thompson Regional Community Centre with the exception of mobile polls for those who are in the hospital or a care home and unable to leave to vote at the polling place.

To cast a ballot, voters must be Canadian citizens, 18 years of age or older, and have lived or owned property in Thompson for at least six months prior to today.

Incumbent Colleen Smook, current councillor Les Ellsworth and former councillor and frequent mayoral candidate Ron Matechuk are seeking to be Thompson’s mayor for the next four years.

Incumbent councillors Earl Colbourne, Brian Lundmark, Kathy Valentino and Duncan Wong are seeking re-election. Other candidates include Chiew Chong and Rita Werstroh, both of whom ran in the 2018 municipal election, as well as first time candidates Robert Chuckrey, Addie Colbourne, Louis Fitzpatrick, James MacIntyre, Joyce McIvor and Sandra Oberdorfer.

Voters can select one candidate for mayor and up to eight candidates for council.

Results of all municipal elections in Manitoba can be viewed at The Thompson Citizen will have further coverage of the local elections online as results are tabulated after 8 p.m.

push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks