Thompson artists make a strong showing at 43rd Northern Juried Art Show

From May 9-12 the C.A. Nesbitt Arena served as an impromptu art gallery, with over 80 paintings, photographs, drawings and sculptures on display for the 2019 Northern Juried Art Show. 

On top showcasing their works to the public, the 36 artists who participated in this year’s event also got the chance to win cash prizes based on the determination of jurors Jasyn Lucas and Leah Decter.

article continues below

Rewards of $100, $75 or $50 were handed out for first, second or third place in each category, respectively.

Thompson artists walked away from this year’s event with 13 top-three finishes, while Flin Flon participants submitted six ribbon-worthy entries.

The rest of the field was comprised of artists hailing from various Northern Manitoba and Saskatchewan communities, including The Pas, Norway House, Creighton and Denare Beach.

This year marks the 10th Northern Juried Art Show to take place in Thompson, with Flin Flon and The Pas sharing hosting duties the rest of the time. 

Top ranked entries from 43rd Northern Juried Art Show (by category)


1-Monique Rainville (Flin Flon) “Untitled” 

2-James Dean (The Pas), “Georgey Girl”

3-Laura Bryson (Flin Flon), “Waiting”


1-Elizabeth Fitzsimons (Flin Flon), “A Touch of Blue” 

2-Anne Snihor (Thompson), “Flying At Sunset”

3-Jan Modler (Creighton), “Untitled (Birch Trees)”


1-Emily Hayes (Thompson), “Sunshine”

2-Jan Hall (Thompson), “Summer Memories”

3-Lisa Larocque (Thompson), “In the Willows”


1-Tamra Martin (Flin Flon), “Boreal Birches”

2-Elaine Angelski (Denare Beach), “Mending Fences”

3-Larry Hall (Thompson), “Zen”

Fibre Arts 

1-Mabel Glaicar (Thompson), “Aurora Watch”

2-Jan Hall (Thompson), “Always Remembered”

3-Patricia Evans (Flin Flon), “Phantom Lake Express”


1-Brandy Bloxom (Denare Beach), “Our Legacy”

2-Veronica Buda (Thompson), “Eat Your Vegetables”

3-Anonymous (Thompson), “Pisew Falls Winter Scene”


1-Teresa Burrows (Thompson), “Our Lady of the Seal Hunt”

2-Lisa Larocque (Thompson), “Mad Hatter”

3-Teresa Burrows (Thompson), “Requiem for the Undone”


1-Adira Carter (Thompson), “Cranberry Picking”

2-Braeden Tetlock (Flin Flon), “Autumn Glimpse”

3-Amelia Cooper (The Pas), “Pennywise”

© Copyright Thompson Citizen


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Thompson Citizen welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus